About us

Welcome to Lytham Heritage Group

“Preserving and Promoting the History and Heritage of the Ancient Parish of Lytham”

Lytham Heritage  Group was established in 1987 to preserve and promote the history and heritage of the Ancient Parish of Lytham, which includes Lytham, Saltcotes, Ansdell, Fairhaven, Heyhouses, Kilgrimol and St Annes.

The Group with its large and active membership, regularly presents exhibitions and speakers. It also has wide ranging facilities including the Heritage Centre for exhibitions, the Archive Centre,  the Windmill Museum and old Lifeboat House.

Aims and Objectives 

The Group, founded in 1987 and granted charitable status (registered charity number 701152) as an educational charity in 1989, includes in its primary aims the following:

  • To educate and stimulate public interest in the history and heritage of the Ancient Parish of Lytham.
  • To form a collection of photographs, documents, films and other artifacts of a cultural nature.
  • To achieve our objectives by means of meetings, exhibitions, lectures, fund-raising for specific purposes and other work for the furtherance of these aims.
  • To preserve, protect, develop and improve buildings of historic or architectural interest for the public benefit.

President

Committee

Officers

Chairman

Sue Forshaw

chairman@lythamheritage.uk

Deputy Chairman

Michael Bell

deputychairman@lythamheritage.uk

Treasurer

Michael Bell

treasurer@lythamheritage.uk

Secretary

Jennifer Trueman

secretary@lythamheritage.uk

Honorary Solicitor

Neville Dickinson

 

Member Positions

Archive Co-ordinator

David Hoyle

archivist@lythamheritage.uk

Centre Exhibitions Co-ordinator

Hilary Fletcher

hcexhibitions@lythamheritage.uk

Centre Exhibitions Supporter

Audrey Kirby

hcexhibitions@lythamheritage.uk

Centre Stewards Co-ordinator

Jennifer Trueman

hcstewards@lythamheritage.uk

Press & Publicity Co-ordinator *

Peter Anthony *

publicity@lythamheritage.uk

Digital Media Co-ordinator *

Phil Stringer *

webmaster@lythamheritage.uk

Social / Speakers Co-ordinator

Sue Forshaw

speakers@lythamheritage.uk

Windmill Exhibitions Co-ordinator

Steve Williams

wmexhibitions@lythamheritage.uk

Windmill Stewards Co-ordinator

Steve Williams

wmstewards@lythamheritage.uk

Old Lifeboat House Exhibitions Co-ordinator

Steve Williams

lhexhibitions@lythamheritage.uk

Old Lifeboat House Stewards Co-ordinator

Steve Williams

lhstewards@lythamheritage.uk

Accreditation

Michael Bell

accreditation@lythamheritage.uk

* Note that these positions need to be formally endorsed at the September 2021 AGM.

Other Roles

Antiquarian Co-ordinator David Forshaw antiquarian@lythamheritage.uk

 

Hennet’s Map dates from the 1830’s and has been marked in red with the Ancient Parish of Lytham boundary…

Image
Hennet's map - 1830s